Working hard lately to get my little projects done, zines and quilts and things.  I am learning for the first time how complicated and confusing photo-copying can be. I have managed to mis-copy at least one page 3 times so far!!

So on Tuesday I stopped by a FedEx Kinkos to get the last error fixed. Normally I do my photocopying at the small mom and pops close to where I live. There is one at the bottom of Roncesvalles Ave, Quick Copy I think, the fellow there did my first zine for me and has been great since.

However here I was. I had about 45mins – 1hr to get it all done because I was mid-nanny shift and the little rosy cabbage had just fallen asleep for napping.

Get my shit done, go to check out and this happens (trigger warning: sexual harassment)

 

FedEx Man: “mg (my comp user name). And what does that stand for?”

Me: (deadpan) “my name.)

FXM: And what’s your name?

Me: (stutter, try to think up a fake, tell him it’s none of his biz but-) Melannie.

FXM: G?

Me: My last name.

FXM: (loudly) Melanie Omoro! (who??) respect, respect..

Me: um, who is that? (he is taking FOREVER to finish the transaction, I just want to bolt feeling trapped)

FXM: You know, you look familiar – did we go to school together?

SERIOUSLY?!?! at most, I could pass for 35 AT MOST. but really, I feel like I look precisely late twenties. This man, however is easily in his mid-late forties, also black.

Me: I doubt it, I am a lot younger that you think, apparently.

FXM: Ohhhh so your saying I’m old?

************sighsighsigh************

Me: I dunno, maybe you have a wise beard.

What I should have said:

Yes. I think you are far too old to be coming on to me with my baby when I am just trying to get my work done. Put your cock back behind the cash register and back the fuck off.  but I didn’t, and am feeling kind of shitty about it.

FXM: You’re not in your forties then, but in your thirties?

Me: sure. (feeling trapped and uncomfortable, trying to sooth a just waking up baby, want to yell, become violent)

FXM: (suddenly in a west indian accent) A biiig woman now wit’ her own baaaby!

Me: Yeah, he’s cute.

end of transaction

Gettin on my coat I hear “buh bye Melannie buh bye” in a baby voice. I look behind me to see asshat waving and trying to convince  his co-worker that he knows me.

I am over it! I have been over it since it started. Black men: just because we might check the same box on the census doesn’t allow you to disrespect me by starting a coversation just to get laid.

PISSED!!!

**this is a constant occurrence in my life as I am sure it is many others. I welcome and encourage comments.**

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a comment